FAA International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA)

State Regulators/Civil Aviation Authorities-

Need assistance in obtaining, or regaining, Category 1 FAA IASA status?

Under the International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) program, the FAA determines whether another country’s oversight of its air carriers that operate, or seek to operate, into the US, or codeshare with a US air carrier, complies with safety standards established by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). The IASA program focuses on a country's ability, not the ability of individual air carriers, to adhere to international aviation safety standards and recommended practices contained in Annex 1 (Personnel Licensing), Annex 6 (Operation of Aircraft), and Annex 8 (Airworthiness of Aircraft) to the International Convention on Civil Aviation “Chicago Convention.”
Obtaining initial FAA IASA Category 1 status is a complex and time-consuming process; however, the benefits of Category 1 status far outweigh the efforts. Primarily, initial Category 1 status will allow new, direct, highly desirable, and profitable routes, into the United States, which cannot otherwise be offered by the State's air carriers. Additionally, Category 1 status allows code-sharing with a US air carrier. The economic benefits are extensive.

If the State has already been granted Category 1 status, but has been downgraded to Category 2, there are deficiencies that must be corrected in order to be reinstated to Category 1 status. While generally not as complex and time-consuming as obtaining initial Category 1 status, there is still much work that needs to be done to fix identified issues. 


TACG Provides Expert IASA Consultation

TACG has a team of qualified consultants who can assist you in any, or all, phases of the IASA process. Our consultants have specific experience with IASA, and know how to handle the many intricacies of obtaining, or regaining, Category 1 status. TACG IASA consultants have all been directly involved in the development of the FAA IASA program in the United States and have extensive IASA field auditing experience in:

  • Operations
  • Maintenance
  • International Aviation Law

TACG's IASA consulting services include:

  • Initial IASA consultations (advice, guidance)
  • Technical Reviews
  • IASA pre-audits (to prepare for the FAA full audit)
  • Category 1 obtainment
  • Category 1 reinstatement
  • Assistance with correcting IASA findings



To request more information please contact us



Additional Information About IASA

IASA assessments determine compliance with international standards by focusing on each critical element (CE) of an effective aviation safety oversight authority specified in ICAO Document 9734. These eight critical elements include:

(CE-1) Primary aviation legislation;

(CE-2) Specific operating regulations;

(CE-3) State civil aviation system and safety oversight functions;

(CE-4) Technical personnel qualification and training;

(CE-5) Technical guidance, tools, and the provision of safety critical information;

(CE-6) Licensing, certification, authorization, and approval obligations;

(CE-7) Surveillance obligations; and

(CE-8) Resolution of safety concerns.


IASA results and further FAA IASA information can be viewed by clicking here